Phone: +8618926116206     E-mail:


Types of VLANs

Typically, there are five basic VLAN types: interface-based VLAN, MAC address-based VLAN, IP subnet-based VLAN, protocol-based VLAN, and policy-based VLAN.

Port-based VLAN

Port-based VLAN, also called interface-based VLAN, is a technology that enables network administrators manually assign VLANs for each switch port. It suits for a small-sized network without the need to frequently change the network infrastructure.

MAC Address-based VLAN

MAC address-based VLAN refers to assign VLANs according to the source MAC addresses of frames. Applying this technology can greatly improve network security and flexibility. Even if the users frequently change their physical locations, the network administrator won’t need to reconfigure VLANs.

IP subnet-based VLAN

IP subnet-based VLAN can assign VLANs according to devices’ IP subnets. It will be an effective solution for a public network with a higher demand for mobility and simplified management and lower demand for security. With this technology, users can automatically join a new VLAN ID after their IP changed.

Protocol-based VLAN

Applied for a network with multiple protocols, protocol-based VLAN can assign VLANs according to the protocol types and encapsulation formats of frames.

Policy-based VLAN

Policy-based VLAN can be described as a combination of the above. It can assign VLANs according to the policies like combinations of MAC addresses and IP addresses. By the combination of policies to realize inter-VLAN access control, network security and flexibility will be greatly enhanced.



Leave a Reply

Leave a message